American Waste Control | Southwest Tulsa Chamber

Kenny Burkett started a trash collection company back in 1970 with one truck and just a few customers. From humble beginnings, he built a successful company serving Tulsa with the best in waste management solutions by focusing on great customer service and taking care of his employees.  In 1980, he sold the residential business and began to direct his interest toward commercial and industrial clients. He formed American Waste Control that same year and then went on to found Tulsa Recycle and Transfer (TRT) in 1987 and then American Environmental Landfill (AEL) in 2000, making American Waste Control the only completely integrated waste management company in Tulsa that provides custom solutions to area businesses. In 2012, the Mr. Murph recycling program was initiated and captured Tulsa resident’s interest in recycling. Mr. Murph is still inspiring and educating Tulsa.


American Waste Control’s sustainability mission is to provide the most cost-effective, environmentally sound solution for our customers’ waste disposal needs while striving to reduce material waste, generate clean renewable energy and make recycling easier and more accessible to all of Northeast Oklahoma.  AWC has always been about people; serving the community, staying innovative, caring for the environment, and recycling for our future.  Community involvement couldn’t be more apparent than American Waste Control’s efforts in reuniting the Tulsa Christmas Parade and raising their investment in the Southwest Tulsa Chamber to the level of Benefactor.  They see the importance of investing in their community and in give back by regularly supporting community events whenever possible.  Vice President Paul Ross has played an key role in partnering with our Chamber.


The Southwest Tulsa Chamber is excited to have American Waste Control as its newest Benefactor Member and looks forward to a long relationship that will bring more opportunities to enhance the Southwest Tulsa community. AWC will be one of our honorees at the Community Awards Dinner on January 23, 2016